Update for February – Moving forward on the Blog.

Welcome to my blog, in this post I plan to summarize the focus upon which the blog will be moving forward with into the near future. I am planning to either run a Basic-Expert-Companion-Master (BECM) Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) based solo or group-based campaign. Even though I will be using the BECM D&D rules, I will be adding some house rules rooted in my preferred style of play and the inspirations for this campaign in general.

You may be asking, “How will this manifest on the Blog?”

  1. Posts describing the various House-Rules that I’ll be implementing and the reasoning behind them.
  2. Posts describing the setting of the campaign as the Players or I in Solo-Play interact with the setting.
  3. Posts on maps as the setting develops.

Other than posts concerning the above-mentioned subject, I plan on publishing posts on a personal project utilizing the OD&D as a inspiration and foundation for a mechanical system and it’s setting. These posts will be in the form of a developmental journal. The frequency of these posts will be based upon the development of said system and setting, as well as if my BECM D&D campaign content schedule will allow them.

What is this project?

A Science-Fantasy setting and the mechanics required to play and adjudicate it properly. I don’t want to say more until it’s started and is firmly in the path of its developmental journey. I’ve done this before and had to apologize for not continuing on the project.

Here’s a basic summary of the upcoming BECM D&D campaign of which I’ll be posting about on a (hopefully) weekly basis:

My Inspirations for this campaign are the Manga, Light Novels and Anime for Record of the Lodoss War, RoLW: Chronicles of the Heroic Knight, RoLW: Lady of Pharis, Legend of Crystania, Record of Grancrest War, Grimgar of Fantasy and Ashand Goblin Slayer. As you can clearly see (outside of both Goblin Slayer and Grimgar) the creative mind of Ryo Mizuno happened to inspire me quite a lot.

See images below for the vibe that I am going for.

Record of Lodoss War by Ryo Mizuno
Record of Lodoss War: Chronicles of the Heroic Knight by Ryo Mizuno
Record of Lodoss War: The Lady of Pharis by Ryo Mizuno
Legend of Crystania by Ryo Mizuno
Record of Grancrest War by Ryo Mizuno
Grimgar of Fantasy & Ash
Goblin Slayer

Compared to come Japanese fantasy anime, manga and light novels the above try to stay to their TTRPG roots in D&D and Runequest, thus in my mind a perfect fit for the visual and thematic vibe I am going for with my BECM D&D campaign. Both Grimgar and Goblin Slayer really emphasize how deadly being a low-level D&D character can be.

I had planned to publish this post last night but lost track of time and so will do so now. Please take care and see you next week. Fin.

2 thoughts on “Update for February – Moving forward on the Blog.

    1. VRGR-68 Vættrið, Dweller ov the Vargskógi

      I will be working on my next post throughout the week. I’m not sure if I will be posting about my house-rules concerning magic or samples of my custom region specific wilderness encounter charts.

      Like

Leave a comment